

## The Carl von Ossietzky Medal of the International League for Human Rights 1962 – 2012

Carl von Ossietzky, the passionate political commentator of the Weimar Republic and publisher of "Weltbühne (World Stage)" Magazine, was a member of the German League for Human Rights from 1920 until his arrest by the Nazis in 1933.

As the editor responsible for one of the articles exposing the secret rearmament of the German Armed Forces, he was sentenced in 1931 to 18 months in prison for "Betrayal of Military Secrets". He knew very well that he would be a more effective advocate and portrayed as a martyr if he was in prison and on the day of his imprisonment he explained, "I'm not going to prison because I'm true to my cause but rather because I'm a bigger annoyance behind bars". Only two months after being set free on the occasion of the Christmas amnesty granted by the Government to political prisoners in December 1932, von Ossietzky was taken into custody by the Gestapo the following year on the night of the Reichstag fire February 27th to 28th of 1933. In 1935 a worldwide campaign was launched to award the Nobel Peace Prize to Carl von Ossietzky, who was incarcerated in a concentration camp. Due to the international attention of his mistreatment in the camp, the Nazis transferred Ossietzky, who was suffering from tuberculosis that they had injected him with, to a hospital ward. There he was kept under arrest and not being allowed to attend the bestowal of the Nobel Peace Prize in Stockholm. He died in 1938 as a result of maltreatment and ill health.

The International League for Human Rights is inspired by his incorruptible spirit and devotion to peace and human rights. The League has awarded the Carl von Ossietzky Medal since 1962 to individuals and groups dedicated to the defense of human rights and peace.

## Selected Notable Awardees among Others

- 1967 Günter Grass,
- 1972 Carola Stern Founder and speaker of amnesty international German Section,
- 1974 Heinrich Böll,
- 1976 Betty Williams, Mairead Corrigan, Ciaran McKeown, Peace People, Ireland,
- 1980 Ingeborg Drewitz,
- 1983 Heinz Brandt; Martin Niemöller,
- 1984 Günter Wallraff,
- 1986 Erich Fried,
- 1994 Volker Ludwig and GRIPS-Theater Berlin,
- 1995 Jacob Finci, La Benevolencija, Bosnia,
- 1996 The Saturday Women of Istanbul,
- 1997 Hannes Heer Team of the exhibit "War of Destruction-Crimes of the German Army 1941 1944",
- 1998 Madjiguène Cissé and Les Collectifs des SANS-PAPIERS, Paris,
- 1999 Simin Behbahani, Monireh Baradaran, Iran,
- 2007 The "Legal Team" Lawyers' SOS in support of protestors against the G8 Summit
- 2008 The Bil'in Committee of Palestinian non-violent Resistance and the Israeli Anarchists against the Wall
- **2009** Captain Stefan Schmidt for saving 37 refugees from drowning in the Mediterranean Sea and Mouctar Bah for his anti-racist engagement in Germany
- 2010 Mordechai Vanunu, sentenced by the Israeli Criminal Court to an 18-year-long imprisonment in 1988 due to passing on information about the Israeli Negev nuclear research center to a London newspaper in 1985. Though he had served the full sentence in 2004, the laureate was not allowed to leave Israel for Berlin, in order to personally attend the ceremonial act for the bestowal of the Carl-von-Ossietzky-Medal in 2010
- **2012** Peter Lilienthal, film director, for his socio-critical film oeuvre and trend setting sociopolitical Enlightenment films.